Chauncey Allers and Coach Joe Mingachos Heads WestConn In All-LEC Team

Chauncey Allers and Coach Joe Mingachos Heads WestConn In All-LEC Team
DANBURY, CT - The Western Connecticut State University men's soccer team was well represented on the 2017 All-Little East Conference Team announced on Wednesday. Junior forward Chauncey Allers (Wilton, CT) and head coach Joe Mingachos reeped top honors as Offensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively.
Joining Allers on the first team was LEC Tournament Most Outstanding Player and WestConn back Shane Bierfeldt (Torrington, CT).  Darion Richeme' (Danbury, CT), Robert Della Penna (Suffield, CT) and Shane Pugliese (Plainville, CT) were honored on the Second Team.
The Colonials face Brandeis University in the first round of the NCAA Division III Championships on Saturday, November 11.  Game time against the Judges is set for 5 pm.  Rutgers-Newark and Bowdoin face each other in the other first round game at 7:30 pm.  Saturday's winners will meet in the second round on Sunday.  Game time is set for 7 pm in Waltham, MA.
official release from Darryl Konicki - LEC Assistant Commissioner

PAWTUCKET, R.I. - The Little East Conference (LEC) announced its 2017 All-Conference Men's Soccer Team and major award winners Wednesday follow a vote of the league's head coaches. Western Connecticut State University junior Chauncey Allers (Wilton, Conn.) was named the 2017 Offensive Player of the Year, while head coach Joe Mingachos was named 2017 Coach of the Year. Rhode Island College senior Elimane Seye (Providence, R.I.) is the 2017 Defensive Player of the Year, and Southern Maine freshman Richard Glemawu (Accra, Ghana) is the 2017 Rookie of the Year.

Allers leads the conference with 15 goals and 34 total points through his 21 games played this season. He led the LEC with five goals in seven conference regular season matches and accounted for both of the Colonials conference playoff goals to lead them to the 2017 LEC tournament title. Allers was also named a first-team all-conference selection for the second straight year, and is just the second Western Connecticut player to be named LEC Offensive Player of the Year.

Now a two-time first-team all-conference selection, Seye led a defensive unit that allowed seven goals in seven conference matches and recorded five shutouts for the year as the Anchormen claimed a share of the LEC regular season title and advanced to the conference championship game. He made his presence felt offensively as well, scoring three goals with a pair of game-winners. Seye is the second-ever Rhode Island College student-athlete to be named LEC Defensive Player of the Year.

Glemawu was named LEC Rookie of the Year after starting all but one of his 19 games played in goal for the Huskies, in which he totaled six wins, two shutouts and a league-best 127 saves. His .819 save percentage was third-best in the league this season. The second-team all-conference selection is the third Southern Maine student-athlete to be named LEC Rookie of the Year.

Mingachos was named LEC Coach of the Year for the first time after leading Western Connecticut to a 13-6-0 during the regular season, while included a share of the LEC regular season title with a 5-2-0 conference record. The Colonials went on to win their first LEC tournament title since 2005. Mingachos is the third WestConn head coach to be named LEC Coach of the Year.


2017 LEC Men's Soccer All-Conference Team
Offensive Player of the Year Chauncey Allers, Western Connecticut  
Defensive Player of the Year Elimane Seye, Rhode Island College  
Rookie of the Year Richard Glemawu, Southern Maine  
Coach of the Year Joe Mingachos, Western Connecticut  
First-Team All-Conference
Position Name School Hometown
F Komla Dogbey Rhode Island College Providence, R.I.
F Chauncy Allers Western Connecticut Wilton, Conn.
F William Salta Keene State Laconia, N.H.
M Nick Rutherford Plymouth State Sydney, Australia
M Dennis Vazquez Rhode Island College Providence, R.I.
M Denis Martinez UMass Boston Chelsea, Mass.
M Xavier Doran Eastern Connecticut Hebron, Conn.
D Elimane Seye Rhode Island College Providence, R.I.
D Marcelo Cunha UMass Boston Goiania, Brazil
D Charlie Mull Southern Maine Portland, Maine
D Shane Bierfeldt Western Connecticut Torrington, Conn.
GK Ryan Murphy Eastern Connecticut Cromwell, Conn.
Second-Team All-Conference
Position Name School Hometown
F Daniel Morales UMass Boston San Diego, Calif.
F Jerry Randolph Plymouth State Malmo, Sweeden
F Jake Davenport UMass Boston Weymouth, Mass.
M Joshua Khang UMass Boston Brockton, Mass.
M Darion Richeme Western Connecticut Danbury, Conn.
M Conor Leahy Keene State Beverly, Mass.
M Robert Della Penna Western Connecticut Suffield, Conn.
D Shane Pugliese Western Connecticut Plainville, Conn.
D Dan Shaw Plymouth State Winchester, England
D Ty Catunto Rhode Island College New Bedofrd, Mass.
D Filip Johansson Plymouth State Lulea, Sweeden
GK Richard Glemawu Southern Maine Accra, Ghana